Psoriasis

The Psoriasis Research Unit forms part of the Centre for Dermatology within the Institute of Inflammation and Repair.

The psoriasis research programme is widely regarded as one of the most comprehensive in the world. Interests range from psychosocial disability through to immunogenetics and clinical trials of new biological therapies.

Research is intimately associated with the University of Manchester psoriasis specialty clinic founded in 1994 and based at Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust - awarded Hospital Doctor Dermatology Team of the Year 2002. The clinic was established jointly by Professor Griffiths and Dr Robert Chalmers.

Psoriasis research receives funding from the Medical Research Council, Wellcome Trust, Psoriasis Association of Great Britain and Ireland, Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis Alliance (PAPAA), industry and the Department of Health.

Principal investigators and collaborators

Name Job title Email address
Professor Christopher Griffiths Professor of Dermatology christopher.griffiths@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Watson Non-Clinical Senior Lecturer rachel.watson@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Helen Young Senior Lecturer helen.s.young@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Andrea Murray Research Fellow andrea.murray@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Cath O'Neill Senior Lecturer in Clincal Biochemistry catherine.o'neill@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Robert Chalmers Consultant Dermatologist robert.j.chalmers@manchester.ac.uk
Professor Ian Kimber Professor of Toxicology (Faculty of Life Sciences) ian.kimber@manchester.ac.uk
Professor Jane Worthington Professor of Chronic Disease Genetics jane.worthington@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Dearman Research Fellow (Faculty of Life Sciences) rebecca.dearman@manchester.ac.uk