Photobiology and nutrition

The Manchester Photobiology Unit was established in 2000 with the appointment of Prof Lesley Rhodes. Our research activity involves the beneficial and hazardous effects of sunlight exposure on the skin. This encompasses particular interests in dietary and other systemic photoprotection, the risk-benefits of vitamin D production, mechanistic aspects of phototherapy and photodynamic therapy and the photopathogenesis of the photodermatoses.

Principal investigators and collaborators

Name Job title Email address
Professor Lesley Rhodes Professor of Experimental Dermatology lesley.e.rhodes@manchester.ac.uk
Professor Adele Green Professor of Epidemiology adele.green@manchester.ac.uk
Professor Ann Webb Associate Dean, Graduate Education ann.webb@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Jackie Berry Senior Research Fellow (Endocrine Sciences)
 
jacqueline.l.berry@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Mark Farrar Research Fellow mark.farrar@manchester.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Vail
 
Professor of Clinical Biostatistics andy.vail@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Watson Non-Clinical Senior Lecturer rachel.watson@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Mark Dickinson Reader
 
mark.dickinson@manchester.ac.uk
Mrs Ann Haylett Honorary Lecturer ann.haylett@srft.nhs.uk
Dr Donald Allan Honorary Lecturer - Medical Physicist donald.allan@srft.nhs.uk
Dr Cath O'Neill Senior Lecturer in Clinical Biochemistry catherine.o'neill@manchester.ac.uk