Intensive Course in Applied Epidemiology  An annual short course delivered by the Epidemiology group, Institute of Health Sciences, University of Aberdeen University. Next course takes place 5th – 9th March 2018.

Prognosis research: concepts, methods and clinical application (International Summer School) at Keele University, UK.  Next course takes place 25th -27th June 2018.

Advanced Musculoskeletal Epidemiology Summer School  Delivered by the Centre for Muscloskeletal Research, University of Manchester, UK.
This course is aimed at clinicians, allied health professionals, and researchers working in musculoskeletal research. It is expected that participants will have an understanding of basic epidemiological research methods and biostatistics. Next course takes place Summer 2018 (TBA)

***New for 2016 ***
Rheum 101 - Rheumatology teaching for non-clinical researchers
A series of lectures, supported by the UK-RiME network, on clinical rheumatology topics for non-clinicians working in musculoskeletal research.
The lectures will be delivered in Manchester, with a live webcast via YouTube. The format will be 20 mins per topic with 10 mins for questions (submitted by the audience at University of Manchester and via Twitter using #rheum101). A podcast will be available to download afterwards, for researchers outside the University of Manchester.

Osteoarthritis (Dr Jenny Jumphreys) / Rheumatoid Arthritis (Prof Kimme Hyrich) - 12 September 2016 (

Introduction to the Immune system (Dr John Reynolds) / Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (Dr Ben Parker) - 5 December 2016 (

Gout (Dr Ed Roddy) - 17 November 2017 (



Rheumatology 2018   (The British Society for Rheumatology) 1 - 3 May 2018, Liverpool, UK.

EULAR Congress 2018 13 - 16 June 2018, Amsterdam, Netherlands

ACR / ARHP Annual Meeting (American College of Rheumatology) 19 - 24 October 2018, Chicago, Ill., USA


Training Leads

For further information on UK-RiME training opportunities, please contact Centre representatives:


Current Training Lead



Kimme Hyrich


Emma Clark


Gary McFarlane


Nigel Arden


Karen Walker-Bone


Weiya Zhang


Alex MacGregor


Danielle Van der Windt